Sinn Féin from Ireland: HDP has our full solidarity

  • world
  • 19:29 5 June 2020
  • |

ANKARA - Sinn Féin MP Michelle Gildernew has called for the immediate release of all HDP political prisoners and an end to political repression by the Turkish state.

Another condemnation of the imprisonment of HDP’s Leyla Güven and Musa Farisoğulları together with CHP’s Enis Berberoğlu has come from Ireland as the MP status of all three parliemantary members were dropped on Thursday. Sinn Féin's Fermangah and South Tyrone MP Michelle Gildernew condemned the draconian actions against political opponents in Turkey as she declared full solidarity with HDP.

"It was deeply distressing to hear reports that two HDP MPs, Leyla Güven and Musa Farisoğulları, have been stripped of their ‘MP’ status and were arrested last night – along with Enis Berberoğlu of the CHP, Turkey’s main opposition party. This concerning news has only been exacerbated by reports this morning that police in Ankara attacked a peaceful march of HDP MPs, as they made their way from parliament to Güvenpark, to protest these latest arrests", said Gildernew in the statement published in Sinn Féin's official website. 


Gildernew stated, “Unfortunately, actions such as these are yet another reminder of President Erdoğan’s complete and total contempt for political opposition and democratic norms.All of this is taking place in the context wherein 45 of the 65 HDP controlled municipalities have had their Mayors arrested since last March. As we understand it, at least, 21 mayors remain incarcerated. This cannot be tolerated or accepted in a supposed modern democratic society" as the statement ended as follows, together with the declaration of full support of Sinn Féin for HDP: “Sinn Féin condemns the Turkish government’s policy of mass arrests and the political repression of opposition parties. We are all too aware that the politics of suppression and exclusion are wrong and counterproductive.The international community must bring pressure on the Turkish Government to respect the democratic wishes of the people".